Saint-Georges, Joseph Bologne de (1745-1799)

Symphonie Concertante in G major, Op. 13 No. 2 (AE614)
Edited by Allan Badley
Score (Hardcopy): US$65.00 / Score (PDF): US$48.75
ISBN: 978-988-8708-42-0 (print) / 978-988-8708-43-7 (digital) 
ISMN: 979-0-805700-82-3

Saint-Georges' two-movement symphonies concertantes typically have a conventional first movement followed by a rondo with no intervening slow movement. The two symphonies concertantes, Op.9 are excellent examples of this type of work but, as Op.10 No.1 demonstrates, Saint-Georges occasionally abandons the rondo second movement in favour of a brisk, finale using a truncated sonata-ritornello structure. The solo writing in the symphonies concertantes is challenging and shows little evidence of Saint-Georges’ concern to accommodate players less skilled than himself. The harmonic self-sufficiency of the three-part solo grouping in the Op.10 symphonies concertantes allows Saint-Georges to write quite lengthy passages in which the orchestra is silent. The resulting juxtaposition of orchestral and chamber music textures is highly effective. Something of the same quality is encountered in the works for two violins where the solo sections are very thinly scored and are often curiously lacking in rhythmic animation especially in the accompaniments.

Hofmann, Leopold (1738-1793)

Harpsichord Concerto in D major (Badley D1) (AE563)
Edited by Allan Badley
Score (Hardcopy): US$72.00 / Score (PDF): US$54.00
ISBN: 978-988-8529-60-5 (print) / 978-988-8529-61-2 (digital) 
ISMN: 979-0-805700-30-4

In many respects, Concerto D1 is the most puzzling of Leopold Hofmann’s keyboard concertos. Like Concerto C4 [AE562], which alone employs a remote tonality in its second movement, D1 is the only known authentic concerto by Hofmann to abandon the fussy eight-in-a-bar notation that is a hallmark of his first-movement style in favour of the brisk alla breve style that he occasionally employs in the finales of his instrumental concertos. Why he chose not to pursue this innovation is unclear (unless one or more of the concertos of uncertain authorship that are attributed to him prove to be authentic), but it is possible that the notation was chosen principally to suit the nature of the thematic material. One of the noteworthy stylistic details of this movement is the almost complete absence from the solo part of Hofmann’s characteristically extensive use of triplet and sextuplet figuration.

Dale, Joseph (1750-1821)

Grand Sonata for Pianoforte, Tambourine, Flute, Violin and Basso (AE599)
Edited by Sam Girling
Score + Part(s) (Hardcopy): US$65.00 / Score + Part(s) (PDF): US$48.75
ISBN: 978-988-8529-70-4 (print) / 978-988-8529-71-1 (digital)
ISMN: 979-0-805700-35-9

Joseph Dale composed some works of his own for tambourine that were aimed at an ever-increasing number of middle-class music customers; of these, the most significant is undoubtedly his Grand Sonata, Op.18 for pianoforte and tambourine, with accompaniments for flute, violin and basso. It contains a variety of choreographic turns for the tambourine player to include. The work’s title page suggests that the tambourine parts were in fact written by Dale’s son, Joseph Dale Junior; it contains a dedication to the Duchess of Dorset, presumably Arabella Diana Cope. The work is structured in three movements: an allegro, a siciliana and a rondo. The pretty and colourful designs on the frame of Dale’s tambourines are similar to that seen on square pianos from the same period, and as such look to be specifically designed to appeal to contemporary feminine taste. Laura Vorachek notes that the smaller size and affordability of the square piano saw its rise as a popular instrument in the music education of middle-class girls during the late eighteenth century, and the similarities with the tambourine in terms of decoration and appeal are quite striking.


New Publications Checklist



Organ Concerto in C major (Badley C4) (AE562)
Harpsichord Concerto in D major (Badley D1) (AE563)
Harpsichord Concerto in F major (Badley F1) (AE564)
Harpsichord Concerto in A major (Badley A1) (AE565)


Wanhal, Johann Baptist: Flute Concerto in A major (Weinmann IIe:A1) (AE611)
Wanhal, Johann Baptist: Flute Concerto in B flat major (Weinmann IIe:Bb1) (AE612)

Chamber Music


Grand Sonata for Pianoforte, Tambourine, Flute, Violin and Basso (AE599)


Twelve Divertissements for Piano Forte and Tambourine, Op.38 (AE607)


Three Capriccios for the Pianoforte, Op.36 (Weinmann XIII:12-14) (AE640)

Three Capriccios for the Pianoforte, Op.31 (Weinmann XIII:1-3) (AE641)



Symphonie Concertante in G major, Op.13 No.2 (AE614)


Forthcoming Publications

Scores of all publications listed below will be issued at the earliest possible date and forward orders will be accepted. All new issues will be advertised on this page upon publication. For further information and all order enquires (including music hire) please contact customer service at customer.service@artaria.com



Keyboard Concerto in C Major (Badley C1) (AE644)
Keyboard Concerto in C Major (Badley C2) (AE645)
Keyboard Concerto in D Major (Badley D1) (AE646)
Keyboard Concerto in A Major (Badley A1) (AE647)
Keyboard Concerto in A Major (Badley A2) (AE648)


Concerto for Viola & Cello in G Major, VB153a*
Viola Concerto in C Major, VB153b*
Viola Concerto in E-flat Major, VB153c*
*(Performing material available for hire)


Violin Concerto in D Major, Op.4 (AE627)

Chamber Music


String Quartet in G Major, Op.17, No.6 (AE649)


String Quintet in D Major (Benton 274) (AE620)
String Quintet in B-flat Major (Benton 275) (AE621)
String Quintet in A Major (Benton 276) (AE622)
String Quintet in F minor (Benton 277) (AE637)
String Quintet in B-flat Major (Benton 278) (AE638)
String Quintet in G Major (Benton 279) (AE639)


Flute Quartet in D minor, WoO 35, No.1 (AE524)
Flute Quartet in G Major, WoO 35, No.2 (AE525)
Flute Quartet in A minor, WoO 35, No.3 (AE526)

Sacred works


Missa in D Major (Badley C13b) (AE624)
Missa Sancti Erasmi (Badley D4) (AE642)


Missa in D Major (Nokki 20) (AE610)
Missa in G Major (Nokki 45) (AE623)
Missa in C Major (Nokki X) (AE643)